addicted to cowls

Call me fast or crazy, but I’ve finished my purple cowl:

front view

I’m not sure why the Garter Girl requested knitters not to sell this item.  Perhaps she doesn’t have time to mass-knit and sell them herself, but this cowl is so stylish that many people may approach a knitter in order to have one – what a shame it would be to refuse their eager-eyed custom!  Ah well, not that I understand knitter politics…

rear view

Knitting this project introduced two new techniques that I hadn’t tried before: kitchener stitch and weaving the ends.

The first was a lot easier than I thought.  The only tricky part is the yarn thinning out and breaking.  This happened a couple of times, affecting how evenly my stitches appeared, but it’s only to be expected when the yarn I’m using is casually spun.  A video I recommend for the kitchener stitch is one by KnittingHelp.com.  You can see exactly where your darning needle has to go and you’ll soon get it done in no time!

Despite how useful this video is, it doesn’t go into what happens before you begin the kitchener stitch.  There might be another video that deals with this, but in case there isn’t, and to save you the hassle of having to dig it out: place the knitting needle with the provisional cast-on stitches on the left and the knitting needle with your active yarn on the right, then sever the active yarn by the length you think you’ll need to do the kitchener stitch and thread it on your darning needle.

The second technique, weaving the ends, was almost overlooked in the same way as the provisional cast-on (must stop doing this!)  Even though I felt the kitchener stitch was strong enough to cope, instructions advised me to “weave in the ends”, and this video by Staci helped me to do it.  In the photo above, you will see how the seam ended up from combining kitchener stitch and weave ends.  It bothers me a little that the seam is so apparent (it was more invisible with the kitchener stitch alone), but I guess it’s better to have a strong seam than a weak one!

Tilli Tomas “Voile de la Mer” in Forest

I’m planning to visit This is Knit later this afternoon for 5.0mm KnitPro Symfonie needles and possibly to indulge in a skein of Tilli Tomas on sale at €12.00 (reduced from €17.50).  I love the mixture of brown, beige, green, and orange but it’s an expensive yarn, thanks to 70% silk and 30% seacell (some kind of kelp fibre?)  Wouldn’t hurt to look, though!  And now’s the best time to go, since their opening times have switched to summer (11:30-17.45).

One response to “addicted to cowls

Leave a Reply

