owls and bananas!

Not sure why but the population of owl patterns available online is not very big.  All I want is the ability to knit an owl on  something flat like a scarf, except knitting one in the round appears to be the done thing these days and narrows down my chances of finding relevant search results.  A timely kick up the arse, no doubt!  I keep saying to myself all the time that I’ll learn how to knit in the round without ever really starting (don’t even have the needles, love!!)  Any road, I came across this blog where a knitter has kindly shared the pattern I need on their “Owl Washie”, which I slightly altered to suit my own purposes.

too-wit…

**OWL STITCH**

cast on 16 sts

definitions for “c4b” & “c4f”

k2, p2, slip 2 sts onto cable needle & hold to back of work, k2, k2 on cable needle

slip 2 st on cable needle & hold in front of work, k2, k2 off cable needle, p2, k2

* * *

1.) k4, p8, k4
2.) p4, c4b, c4f, p4
3.) k4, p8, k4
4. ) p4, k8, p4
5.) k4, p8, k4
6.) p4, k8, p4
7.) k4, p8, k4
8.) p4, k8, p4
9.) k4, p8, k4
10.) p4, k8, p4
11.) k4, p8, k4
12.) p4, k1, p2, k2, p2, k1, p4
13.) k4, p1, k2, p2, k2, p1, k4
14.) p4, k8, p4
15.) k4, p8, k4
16.) p4, c4b, c4f, p4
17.) k4, p8, k4

* * * 

…too-whoo!

Still have that cotton yarn from knitting the Emilia Kindle Case so planning to put the rest towards an owl-patterned Blackberry cover once I learn how to knit in the round…

So what else have I been up to on a typically soggy weekend?

my very own damp tray!

 Here’s my first ever damp tray, purchased from the Irish equivalent of Poundland, a UK discount store which has somehow found its way to Ireland.  With summer now rearing its hot and ugly head, it’s time for some products to help get rid of the heat and I bought this little item with the hopes of banishing damp from the muggy air around us!  I own two in lemon and lavender and keep them near the windows of the lounge and bedroom.  So far, nothing seems to be happening.  Instructions state the white crystals inside should last up to 6 weeks and should only be replaced once the crystals turn to gel.  If the Japanese use this produce without any problems then the damp tray is fine with me!

traffic light peppers… mmm!

Roasting bell peppers again, bwuh hahaha!! I really do think that it’s best to drizzle them with a bit of olive oil (or any oil of your choice!) as it stops the skins from getting too burnt and also adds to the bell pepper juices that leak out in the oven.  I’m making these for a salad I’ll going to eat for work.  One recipe said that capers would do the trick and so I have bought some to go with my peppers!  Mmm… tuna, capers, olives, gerkin, and roast pepper salad!

But what’s this…?

ew… pepper squid!

“ring, ring, ring, ring, ring, ring, ring…”

“…BANANA LOAF!”  (God, I love that song.)  Work recently held a charity bake sale, and being on the Night Shift, any mention of bake sales or any events organised by the social club is akin to a death note from the Grim Reaper.  You’re like, “Really?  A charity bake sale?  Oh, um… sure!  Guess I could bake those souls an apple pie or something… hahaha…”  Yeah.  It doesn’t get done.  You just flick out the Night Shift card and guiltlessly consume what was made by the truly altruistic members of the company.  (“Guiltlessly” isn’t even a word; look how guiltless I am!!)  But this weekend was soggy and my fellow Night Stalkers may well be feeling depressed at the lack of joy to be had on a dark and rainy evening…

Whilst browsing through some patterns for a straight-forward owl, I stumbled on a wonderful designer by the name of Kate Davies, a Scottish lady who has created two of my have-to-knit items:

(get off my) cloud by kate davies

Kate says the hoodie was inspired by the weather icon formerly used by BBC Weather to mark a cloudy day and the title refers to a song by the Rolling Stones as well.  Really want to make that hoodie one day!

o w l s by kate davies

And I’m loving her purple owl jumper!  With two of my favourite things combined into one, I’ll be sure to knit my own in the very near future!

2 responses to “owls and bananas!

Leave a Reply

