hello kitty workout!

stupid knitter’s block!!

Ah yes, the Knitter’s Block still persists, but what better way to ignore it than to join the local gym?  I went there last week to sign up, and based on other gyms in the city, this one’s pretty cheap, offering an annual membership at €265.00, plus 4 months free to sweeten the bargain.  I’m only in for the swim (€10.00 per visit, otherwise!), so I’m practically laughing, even if I turn up a shoddy twice a month.

my ride

their ride

Now I’ve never joined a gym before so I got a few things wrong in the changing rooms, like, where the hell are the changing rooms?  Correct me if I’m wrong but aren’t there meant to be actual “changing rooms”?  I walked past walls of lockers without once encountering a cubicle and tried not to stare at everyone strolling around like a colony of nudists.   When not nude, they would shuffle in fluffy bathrobes and slippers as if they really live there.  Tell me: is this the gym?  You mean we have to get naked like the Japanese after sweating for hours at treadmills?!

I’ll have to get used to this.  I haven’t been back since, but I have every intention of doing so, once I purchase some flip-flops and a towel I won’t be ashamed of.  The gym is such a weird place…

“camille” long coat by malam

Despite technical issues with Ulster Bank (no pay, boo hoo!), I managed to afford my deposit for a hand-tailored coat previously spotted on Etsy.  It took me a while to decide, but there’s no point having money if you ain’t gonna spend it.  So I spent it on a black version of this coat and have had a great experience with Malam so far, who has kindly helped me every step of the way and should have my order complete by the end of the month.  I really look forward to owning my first ever hand-tailored garment and can’t wait to show you how wonderful it is!

potter by fairysteps

Should I get these wizardly boots as well?  They’re also on Etsy and made by British cordwainers Fairysteps.  I would love to own a pair of their quirky little boots when autumn comes, so better start saving up!

hello kitty toothpaste

And don’t ask me why I’ve started taking photos of Hello Kitty products.  I found this toothpaste in Superdrug and decided it would be fun to locate these cute and random products on the shelves of Irish supermarkets.  There’s Hello Kitty shampoo with dead sea minerals in Poundland too, though I didn’t have the guts to take a photo at the time (don’t want to look like a tourist now!)  Wonder where else Hello Kitty is hiding in Dublin…?

Leave a Reply

