gloomy friends

I was out and about in Dublin today on a ‘special’ date with the boyfriend.  For several weeks we’ve been passing like ships in the night due to our different schedules, so it was great to finally spend a weekend together and also use a voucher I bought from GrabOne, which I sometimes rely on for bargains.

On our way to the restaurant, we noticed two things: people wearing wellies on a perfectly sunny day and columns along the centre of O’Connell Street with huge canvas posters.  The former had something to do with a festival or concert close to the city, while the other was celebrating what Poznan did to thank the Irish for not trashing Poland.

poznan says “thank you”

The restaurant we went to is “Burritos and Orange” on Middle Abbey Street.  Although it resembles a coffee shop with the colour scheme, it’s suddenly Mexican the moment you enter: tissue paper bunting, floral patterns on bright tablecloths, a random selection of hats… maybe as Mexican as you’ll get in a country like Ireland, but pretty welcoming all the same.  The waitress appeared with menus, pointing out which sections applied to our voucher, and delivered orders in a timely fashion without being intrusive.  The music was mellow and ‘Mexican’, and it didn’t bother us how close the Luas passed to the building.  Perhaps this was down to the Coronas we were served, I don’t know, but the atmosphere was perfect.

courtesy of yelp.ie

And you’re probably expecting me to show you photos of the food we had – sorry, I don’t have any; I was too busy, you know, eating the food.  But I do recommend the Azteca soup, a clean broth containing tomato, avocado, chili, and strips of tortilla.  It has the right balance of spice and depth without being heavy – a soup I’ve never had and would love to make!  For his main, the boyfriend chose Green Chilaquiles, chicken covered in salsa, sour cream, and cheese.  I tried a little and thought it was nicer than my Shrimp Fajitas (fried king prawn, onions, bell peppers), which were a bit plain and only saved by the Pico De Gallo (salsa) we didn’t get with the Queso Fundido (cheese, salad, flour tortillas).

All in all, we wouldn’t mind going back to “Burritos and Orange” again, though the place does need refurbishment to match the price on their menu.

courtesy of irishcomics.wikia.com

We also went to Forbidden Planet to check out copies of The Walking Dead, just to compare the artwork of older volumes against the newer ones. I’ve seen the series so don’t know much about the graphic novels, though the boyfriend says they are very different and not as slow and melodramatic.

For my trouble, I received this Gloomy mug as a gift:

before hot liquid…

…after hot liquid

what a wonderful…

…bear!

Before heading home, we went to my favourite yarn store This is Knit and bought some gear for making the o w l s jumper I saw by Kate Davies.  I purchased the pattern online last week, and with the exchange rate, cost about €5.o0.  The pattern doesn’t look too hard since it is mostly done in the round; it’s just the sleeves I’m worried about.  I think it mentions knitting the sleeves into the main body somehow, not sure.

Nevertheless, the store assistant (a helpful American who knows her stuff!) recommended “the magic loop” method on YouTube and kindly offered to help at any stage I struggled (bless her!)  The reason she knew the pattern so well was down to Kate Davies doing some classes at This Is Knit in the past.  Shame she isn’t doing that right now… I’d sign up!

let’s DO this!!

Leave a Reply

