hello trotro!

“Ich kann Französisch sprechen – kannst du?”

Let’s face it: Die Schule der kleinen Vampire is too advanced for the likes of me, so I switched to a programme I could actually understand and chose this little donkey named Trotro, a popular character in his native France. He has a lot of free time, thinks fondly of his teddy, and teaches me words I never knew before, which is precisely the reason why I think he’s really great! I watched three episodes yesterday, and like a child, had to watch them over and over again whilst writing down notes and transcribing my guess at complete German sentences. So far, Trotro has kindly taught me such gems as “Toll, es schneit!” (Wow, it snowed!) and “Brr, ich mir kalt, mein Hände sind eisig!” (Brr, I’m cold, my hands are freezing!) Not really useful right now, since it hasn’t started snowing, though it’s amazing how much I’ve learnt from watching a programme for kids!

Here are some words I learnt from Trotro und der Schneemann:

der Schneeball

die Schneeflocke

der Schneemann

I might invest in Hörbucher to pass my time on the bus. Since I’m not in Deutschland right now, I have to try harder than normal to properly learn the language, so maybe German podcasts will help me learn much better. At the moment, lack of immersion worries me and makes me pretty certain that it’s stunting my accent. Some insist that accents come later, that the basics must be mastered before you can work on aesthetics. However, neglecting the accent can mean you sound too foreign when you finally speak, right? Isn’t that the reason why you have so many accents in English??  It’s a bit silly to worry so soon, but I don’t want to talk like a Brit speaking German…

Speaking of which, I applied for an internal position last week in the hopes of moving departments. The role I have now doesn’t play to my strengths. Instead of having customers you can build relationships with, a dialler system contacts random people less likely to pay because they don’t bloody know you, so I’m moving on, crossing my fingers for a role in performance assessment. I’ve never done this job before, but what the hey, I’ll give it a go; it’s what I wanted to do before my redundancy, anyway! And the manager would like a chat with me and my team leader tomorrow or Tuesday. No interview, no documents, just a nice informal chat about why I want the job and how to transfer skills. As the only one in my department who went and applied, do my chances look good for landing the job?

I like to really think so – watch this space!

“Ich liebe du, Teddy. Liebst du mir?”

Leave a Reply

