mein Traumberuf

escape

My German homework this week is to write a short essay (6-8 sentences long) about my “dream job”. Apart from using what I’ve learnt in class, I have also ventured into the realm of subordinating conjunctions and declining adjectives. For those who aren’t into grammatical terms, subordinating conjunctions are words like if, although, so that, until, etc., and they’re the kind of words you use all the time in written and spoken English. Without these subordinating conjunctions, you wouldn’t be able to create long and interesting statements, and for me, not being able to do that in German has been pretty frustrating. So I decided to try a few out in the essay I submitted below:

* * *

“Was ist dein Traumberuf?”

Mein Traumberuf wäre Schriftstellerin. Ich würde gerne ein lässiges, interessanter Job machen, wo kann ich allein arbeiten und lasse ich meine Fantasie spielen.

Am Momentan arbeite ich mit viele Leute in einem tätiges Büro. Die Atmosphäre ist zu streng und die Fantasie beschränken. Ich muss oft in einem ruhiges Zimmer oder zu Hause arbeiten!

Obwohl ich mit meine Kollegen und Kolleginnen arbeite gern, kann ich nie schreiben, ob wir immer reden. Ich würde lieber Krimi und übersinnlicher Geschichten schreiben.  

Um ehrlich zu sein, das Geld ist nicht so wichtig. 

* * *

“What is your dream job”?

My dream job would be a writer. I would like to do a casual, more interesting job where I can work alone and use my imagination.

At the moment, I work with many people in a busy office. The atmosphere is too strict and limits my imagination. I must work often in a quiet room or at home!

Although I like working with my colleagues, I can’t write if we are always talking. I would prefer to write mystery and paranormal stories.

To be honest, the money isn’t important.

Leave a Reply

